In samples loaded from the Create's menu, the front pins app only configures a single pin?

I am brand new to the Create, but familiar with other systems like Arduino and Basic STAMP.

When loading some of the samples directly from the create's default menu, the front pins call configures the analog pin, but ignores the power and ground. The user can't change the configuration before the program runs, so are we supposed to get power and ground from the back? This seems awkward, or am I missing something?

The tutorials and samples are well written in general, but there seems to be too many ways for the brand new user to chose from. A tutorial explaining the differences between the samples menu, Kinoma Studio, Kinoma Code, and Blocks would be appreciated.

Answers

• I've been meaning to go through the samples and and add the power/ground pin configuration where it's missing--I'll get on that today :)

For now you can get power and ground from the back, although you're correct that that might be a bit awkward. The better options are to configure the power and ground pins in the Front Pins app before running the application or change the source code in Kinoma Code and run from there. All you need to do is edit the object passed in to the call to Pins.configure. Here's the analog pin configuration from the Analog Skeleton app as a sample:

Pins.configure({
            analogSensor: {
                require: "Analog",
                pins: {
                    power: { pin: 51, type: "Power", voltage: 3.3 },
                    analog: { pin: 52 },
                    ground: { pin: 53, type: "Ground" }
                }
            }
        },

As for the differences between samples, Kinoma Studio, Kinoma Code, and KinomaJS Blocks: